Fine Art
The Library welcomes recommendations from staff and students, provided they are current editions and support the learning, teaching and research interests of the University. Make your request through the Collection Recommendation Service.
- Flash Art
Produced quarterly, it is a contemporary art magazine based in Italy and features art from around the world. - Art Newspaper
Now available online, a monthly newspaper that covers the international art world. - Art Monthly
Monthly UK based art magazine that features interviews, articles and reviews of exhibitions in the UK and beyond.
- Have you checked to see what is on offer in the Library's Autumn 2023 webinar programme?
- New Reading List: a reading list of texts on LGBTQA+ has been created by staff in the library, the list has material available in the library on LGBTQ+ in society as well as texts that are more specific to subject areas at UCA.
- A new database, Statista, has been added to the Library databases. Statista offers insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries which could be useful for researching the fine art market. You will need your University login to access the database.
The library offers over 200,000 print and electronic books. Print books are arranged by shelf number, which are found using LibrarySearch and on the book binding, the most relevant numbers are -
| Subject | Shelf Number |
|---|---|
| Drawing | 741 |
| Film | 791.43 |
| History of Painting | 759 |
| Individual Painters, A-Z by Name | 759.092 |
| Individual Photographers, A-Z by Name | 770.92 and 779.092 |
| Individual Sculptors, A-Z by Name | 730.92 |
| Journals and Sketchbooks | 741.2 |
| Modern Philosophy | 1906 |
| Performance Art | 709.040755 |
| Philosophy of Art | 701 |
| Photography Techniques | 771 |
| Printmaking | 769 |
| Sculpture | 730 |
| Video Art | 777 |
Journals provide up to date research in your area of study, they may be available in print or electronic format and can be found using LibrarySearch. A list of all current journals can be found using the Journals A-Z, the most relevant are -
- ArtAsiaPacific
For over 20 years, ArtAsiaPacific has been at the forefront of the powerful creative forces that shape contemporary art from Asia, the Pacific and the Middle East. - Aesthetica
In-depth features foreground today’s most innovative practitioners across art, design, photography, architecture, music and film. - Art Bulletin
all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions - Artforum
Since its first issue in the summer of 1994, ArtForum's Bookforum has been staking out new territory in the world of book reviews, inviting authors to address books and cultural trends with curiosity, critical insight, and a distinctive personality. - Art in America
Art in America is an illustrated monthly, international magazine concentrating on the contemporary art world in the United States, including profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and event schedules - Art Monthly
the UK’s leading magazine of contemporary visual art - Elephant Journal
Elephant takes a non-hierarchical approach to contemporary art, bringing together pop culture, music, graphic design, illustration and memes in their coverage. - Flash art.
Flash Art (International) breaks new boundaries with each issue. Featuring articles and interviews on new and emerging artists who will one day be the stars of the contemporary art market. - International Journal of Arts Management
Provides a forum for challenging and debating theories and their application in cultural and arts practice. - Journal of Visual Art Practice
The Journal of Visual Art Practice (JVAP) is a forum of debate and inquiry for research in art. JVAP is concerned with visual art practice including the social, economic, political and cultural frames within which the formal concerns of art and visual art practice are located. - Juxtapoz (Flipster)
Juxtapoz magazine presents a gallery of underground artists who influence much of the fashion, graphics, and new art we see today - MIRAJ: The Moving Image Review & Art Journal
MIRAJ is an international peer-reviewed scholarly publication devoted to artists' film and video, and its contexts. - New Scientist
The New Scientist covesr international news from a scientific standpoint, and ask the big-picture questions about life, the universe and what it means to be human. - New Yorker
The New Yorker is a national weekly magazine that offers a signature mix of reporting and commentary on politics, foreign affairs, business, technology, popular culture and the arts, along with humour, fiction, poetry and cartoons. - October
Examining relationships between the arts and their critical and social contexts - Oxford Art Journal
The Oxford Art Journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. - Third Text
Third Text has established itself as the leading international journal dedicated to the critical analysis of contemporary art in the global field. It has brought with that analysis a particular focus on both the impact of globalisation on cultural practices and the lessons of postcolonial theory. - Virtual Creativity
An academic peer-reviewed journal focusing on creativity in online virtual worlds and other related platforms where the virtual is examined as a central theme in contemporary media art practices and applied contexts. - Women: a cultural review
Explores the role, representation, theory, and politics of gender and sexuality in arts and culture, with a particular focus on the contemporary world.
Databases bring together specialist collections of articles, images and electronic books. A list of all current databases can be found using the Databases A-Z, the most relevant are -
- a-n artists This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides information for working artists, including the full text of the Code of Practice for the Visual Arts, exhibition reviews and previews, the full text of the current issue of a-n magazine, artists talking image bank.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides the full text of journal articles on art, design, advertising, architecture, crafts, interior design, photography, textiles, television and video.
- Arts Professional This link opens in a new window
Arts Professional commissions, researches and writes content for people with a professional interest in the arts sector to deliver a quality news and information service.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search tool that helps you to find academic articles and books on the web. It searches publishers’ websites, university research repositories and other kinds of scholarly sites. It provides a broad and interdisciplinary search and includes the ability to track the number of times an article has been cited by other authors as well as direct links to UCA online collections. For more information see - Using Google Scholar.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals covering the visual arts, including architecture, film studies, fine art, art history, the performing arts, religion, folklore and language, 1884-2009.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of the Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.
- RHS Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
RHS Digital Collections spans over 500 years of gardening history and science. As part of a commitment to improving access many collections are now freely available to view online, to students, researchers and the general public.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. See Getting started with Statista to learn more.
- BoB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BoB is on demand TV and radio service for education which allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. See - Using BoB to learn more about how to setup and use BoB.
- BFI Player This link opens in a new window
The BFI video on-demand streaming service, showing critically acclaimed classic, cult and archive films.
To create or reactivate an account go to the Academic Subscription Page
See the FAQ for further instructions on creating an account. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming service with a Netflix-style interface which can be accessed via the link above or using the Kanopy mobile app for Android and iOS.
Login required off campus to watch films (log in with your UCA details to create a Kanopy login). - Screen Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video clips from the BFI National Film and Television Archive; stills, posters and press books; interviews with film and television personalities. 1900 to the present. All materials available on the site are either owned by the BFI, or have been licensed by the owners to the BFI for inclusion. On campus access only.
- Stash This link opens in a new window
Stash is an online video library of animation, visual effects and motion design from around the world. The site is produced by Stash Media, a Canadian-based company.
- The art of...
From love and creativity, to failure and protest, each episode explores how art reflects universal experiences. Hear from creatives, curators, gallery visitors and even comedians as they chat about art and how it's relevant to our lives today. - Dialogues -The David Zwirner Podcast
What we talk about when we talk about art. Exceptional makers and thinkers across art, literature, film, fashion, music, and more come together to talk about what it means to make things today. - The Great Women Artists
Katy Hessel interviews artists on their career, or curators, writers, or general art lovers, on the female artist who means the most to them. - Talk Art
This podcast from Actor Russell Tovey and gallerist Robert Diament is dedicated to the world of art featuring exclusive interviews with leading artists, curators & gallerists. - This Week in Art
Features breaking news and insider insights to exhibitions and events around the world, from the team at The Art Newspaper.
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 2.5 million rights-cleared and high quality images from 46 of the world's leading collections.
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 800,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Archives offer access to rare and unique insight into the work of artists and creators, and often include original letters and artwork. Details of all the collections can be found in the ArchiveSearch, the most relevant for fine art are -
Artists Books
Are works of art in a book, or book-like form. The appearance and production of the work is determined by the artist as a limited edition.
Digitised front covers can be viewed in ResourceBank
bookRoom
The bookRoom is a research cluster based in Farnham since 2004, under the leadership of Emmanuelle Waeckerle. The bookRoom collection consists of publish artists books and editions works that operates across various time-based media, photography, moving image, writing and performance.
A selection of digitised books can be viewed here
Drew Gallery Projects
Evidence of the earliest developments in East Kent of the role of public art and regeneration between 1980s and 90s. Sandra Drew curated temporary art and sculpture exhibitions alongside the Canterbury Festival - the collection documents its history through posters, reviews and photographs.
Herbert Read Gallery Archive
The archive consists administrative and publicity material generated by the gallery between 1983-2007 - exhibiting artists include Yoko Ono, Jeremy Deller, Mike Nelson, Fischli & Weiss, Adam Chodzko, Susan Hiller.
Stour Valley Arts
An arts organisation which engaged the public through commissioned art projects in the context of King’s Wood, Ashford, Kent from 1994 to 2015 - inspiring resource for those studying sculpture, land art, and art in the public realm.
Tessa Boffin Archive
Photographer and performance artist, this collection reflects her artistic practice developed around LGBTQ, gay and lesbian culture and producing work in response to HIV/AIDS. A selection of digitised archives are available on ResourceBank.
