Skip to Main Content
The Library welcomes recommendations from staff and students, provided they are current editions and support the learning, teaching and research interests of the University. Make your request through the Collection Recommendation Service.
📵 Webinar: Wednesday 12:00 30th March - Copyright with Lisa Moore, Copyright & Compliance Manager. Watch the Webinar.
🎙️ New WARC Virtual Talk - Digital Marketing and the e-commerce challenge. Watch the talk.
🌐 New LS:N Global 'Metaverse' Series - View the series.
🌍 Study skills for international students Reading List - have you seen the study skills for international students reading list, which highlights recommended resources available in the library?
The library offers over 200,000 print and electronic books. Print books are arranged by shelf number, which are found using LibrarySearch and on the book binding, the most relevant numbers are -
| Subject | Shelf Number |
| Advertising | 659.1 |
| Branding | 658.827 |
| Celebrity and Popular Culture | 306.4 |
| Communication Theories | 302.201 |
| Consumer Behaviour | 658.8342 |
| Feminism | 305.42 |
| Graphic Design | 741.6 |
| Media Studies | 302.23 |
| Social Media / Technology | 305.3 |
| Marketing | 658.3 |
| Market Research | 658.83 |
| Subcultures | 306.1 |
| Trend Forecasting | 658.8 |
| Typography | 686.22 |
| Writing Skills | 808.066 |
Journals provide up to date research in your area of study, they may be available in print or electronic format and can be found using LibrarySearch. A list of all current journals can be found using the Journals A-Z, the most relevant are -
Databases bring together specialist collections of articles, images and electronic books. A list of all current databases can be found using the Databases A-Z, the most relevant are -
This link opens in a new window
The AdForum Creative Network is a comprehensive library of over 150,000 award-winning advertisements produced worldwide. Watch, listen and read through the catalogue of television, web radio, and print ads, as well as individual case studies. Ads are sourced from the 36 leading international award shows and over 20,000 agencies worldwide.
This link opens in a new windowThe World Advertising Research Center is a premier provider of information to the global marketing, advertising, media and research industries. Provides over 45,000 papers, case studies, research reports and statistics and full text access to leading industry publications.
Edited is a retail analytics tool used by the world’s best brands and retailers to have the right product at the right time, at the right price. Sections included are Market Analytics, Retail Reports, Visual Merchandising, Trend Dashboard, Runway and Street, Social Monitor.
LS:N Global is an online trend forecasting and consumer insight service used in industry, which tracks trends which are influencing consumer needs and brand buy-in. It includes text, image and video content.
If problems are experienced in Chrome users are advised to switch to a different browser.
Unique Style Platform is a world class forecasting service for the fashion and lifestyle industries, offering curated insights to inform the creative process and inspire innovation.
This link opens in a new windowWGSN is a world leading online research, trend analysis and news service for the fashion and style industry. See - Getting started with WGSN to learn more about how to setup and use WGSN.
This link opens in a new windowWGSN Insight provides trend analysis and consumer behaviour reports on technology, marketing, design, retail and business strategy across a range of industries, including gaming, entertainment, beauty and AI.
See - Getting started with WGSN to learn more about how to setup and use WGSN.
Passport provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping you to analyse market context and identify future trends.
See - Getting started with Euromonitor to learn more..
This link opens in a new windowInsights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. See Getting started with Statista to learn more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Financial Times is one of the world's leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy.
This link opens in a new windowResearch across global news and business sources. For more information see - Newspapers - Nexis.
This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides interactive, digital access to nearly 7,000 of the world’s best newspapers and magazines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. See - Business Source Complete to learn more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSearch and explore quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Emerald imprint.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowInternational, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.
This link opens in a new windowBoB is on demand TV and radio service for education which allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. See - Using BoB to learn more about how to setup and use BoB.
This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service with a Netflix-style interface which can be accessed via the link above or using the Kanopy mobile app for Android and iOS.
Login required off campus to watch films (log in with your UCA details to create a Kanopy login).
This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive listing of UK television and radio broadcasts. Selected programmes of value to higher and further education are reviewed. Click the login button and select the University for the Creative Arts from the dropdown - you will then be taken to a login page.
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 800,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Over 2.5 million rights-cleared and high quality images from 46 of the world's leading collections.
Archives offer access to rare and unique insight into the work of artists and creators, and often include original letters and artwork. Details of all the collections can be found in the ArchiveSearch, the most relevant for advertising are -
Bob Godfrey Archive
Internationally celebrated animator who founded the Animation programme at UCA Farnham – we hold his scripts, storyboards, correspondence, and animation cels.
A selection of of animations are available on ResourceBank
Diagram Group Archive
Founded by Bob Chapman and Bruce Robertson in 1960’s. Diagram was one of the most prolific creators of visual information books in the 20th century – we care for most of its manuscripts and art works.
Stuart Hilton
Artwork of an experimental documentary for '6 Weeks in June', 1996. A road animation of 11000 miles around the USA in six weeks in the back of a van with a band, a pen, and a stack of paper.
Tandem Film Daniel Greaves Studios
Animations produced by Tandem Films including ‘Flatworld’ (1997) and ‘Manipulation’ (1991) - this collection consists storyboards, scripts, and artworks.
A selection of animations are available on ResourceBank
Tessa Boffin Archive
Photographer and performance artist, this collection reflects her artistic practice developed around LGBTQ, gay and lesbian culture and producing work in response to HIV/AIDS. A selection of digitised archives are available on ResourceBank.
Typographic Circle
Poster collection (2008 - 2015). Founded by Maggie Lewis in 1976, Typographic Circle brought together people with an interest in typography and type.
