LibGuides: Jewellery and Silversmithing: Home

Jewellery and Silversmithing

New Books

The Library welcomes recommendations from staff and students, provided they are current editions and support the learning, teaching and research interests of the University. Make your request through the Collection Recommendation Service.

Featured Journals

Crafts
Published by the Crafts Council, Crafts magazine offers news, reviews and opinion, alongside a selection of in-depth features, essays and critical debate. Crafts champions high-quality contemporary craft practice nationally and internationally, as well as its impact on social, economic and cultural life.
Journal of Jewellery Research
A peer-reviewed online and open-access publication that focuses on the design, theory and praxis of jewellery studies. It promotes jewellery research into materials, techniques, technologies, methodologies, processes, concepts and aesthetics. Provides an interdisciplinary arena for the discussion and analysis of jewellery spanning the conceptual, practical, pedagogical and cultural across both contemporary and historical time-frames to consider jewellery within the wealth of creative methodologies at the intersections between jewellery and other disciplines. It aims to publish original papers that have demonstrable research and a clear contribution to existing knowledge.
Jewellery History Today
Jewellery History Today is the magazine of The Society of Jewellery Historians. It contains exhibition and fairs listings, book reviews, and brief articles about all aspects of jewellery, ancient and modern.
2008 to Present in UCA Print Journals Farnham Incomplete: No. 1 (2008)-no. 16 (2013) then; no. 28 (2017)-Present

The library offers over 200,000 print and electronic books. Print books are arranged by shelf number, which are found using LibrarySearch and on the book binding, the most relevant numbers are -

Subject	Shelf Number
Adornment	391.4
Art metalwork	739
Body Culture	306.4
Colour Theory	752
Crafts	745.5
Craft Theory	745.01
Crystals and minerals	549
Culture & Identity	306.2
Design History	745.409
Enamelling	738.4
Glass Design	721.044
Glass & Metalwork Art Nouveau	799.035
Glazes	738.144
Goldsmithing	739.22
Jewellery: 21st century	739.270905
Jewellery: Design	739.27
Jewellery: Designers	739.27092
Jewellery: techniques and materials	739.27028
Making with metal	671
Making with plastic	668
Making with wood	674
Metals and alloys	669
Rings, earrings & bracelets	739.278
Silversmithing	739.23
Sustainable Design	745.2

Borrowing, Renewals and Accounts Finding and Accessing Collections Requesting Resources

Journals provide up to date research in your area of study, they may be available in print or electronic format and can be found using LibrarySearch. A list of all current journals can be found using the Journals A-Z, the most relevant are -

Crafts
Provides news, analysis and reviews for makers, collectors, and lovers of craft.
Findings magazine
Findings is the Association for Contemporary Jewellery printed magazine for members. It reviews shows, technical innovations, materials and subjects of interest to makers, collectors, galleries and museums. Issues from 1998 - 2022 freely available online.
Goldsmiths' Review
Print
For current version only, download here: https://dunstan.thegoldsmiths.co.uk/company/today/goldsmiths-review/
The Goldsmiths' Review features insightful stories and inspiring people working in the jewellery and metalsmithing crafts.
Jewellery Studies
The Society of Jewellery Historians' peer-reviewed illustrated journal. Published on an occasional basis with full-length articles covering all aspects of jewellery from Antiquity to the present day, and from all parts of the world. Jewellery Studies was published in hard copy from 1977 to 2012, and has been an electronic publication since 2015. Articles published from December 2020 (vol. 2020/3) are Open Access.
Journal of Jewellery Research
A peer-reviewed online and open-access publication that focuses on the design, theory and praxis of jewellery studies. It promotes jewellery research into materials, techniques, technologies, methodologies, processes, concepts and aesthetics. Provides an interdisciplinary arena for the discussion and analysis of jewellery spanning the conceptual, practical, pedagogical and cultural across both contemporary and historical time-frames to consider jewellery within the wealth of creative methodologies at the intersections between jewellery and other disciplines. It aims to publish original papers that have demonstrable research and a clear contribution to existing knowledge.
Journal of Modern Craft
Publishes research on craft in all its historical and contemporary manifestations, from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day.
Marzee
Print only
Marzee is the largest independent gallery for jewellery in the world. The Marzee Magazine is published five times a year to accompany exhibitions and each edition includes overviews of the exhibitions, information about the participating artists and images of all the exhibited work.
Metalsmith
Dedicated solely to the metal arts. Documents & analyses jewellery & metal working, with an emphasis on contemporary ideas, critical issues & relevant historical work.
Ornament
A publication on independent jewellery and clothing, as well as on ancient, ethnic and contemporary wearable art.
Retail Jeweller
Print only
UK jewellery and watch industry business news, insights and releases.
Schmuck Magazine
The Schmuck Magazin keeps you up to date with interviews, background stories and news from the industry.
Silver Studies
The Silver Society aims to keep members in touch with the ever-widening study of silver of all periods, places and forms. The Society's journal, Silver Studies,contains a wide range of articles and it is recognised internationally as the most valuable specialist publication for the study of silver.
V&A magazine
Print only
The official magazine of the Victoria and Albert museum in London. V&A Magazine covers all aspects of the visual arts -architecture, design, craft, photography, fashion and fine art - taking the V&A’s exhibition and display programme as its starting point. V&A Magazine aims to be as accessible, intelligent, entertaining and visually appealing as the museum itself.
Wallpaper
Wallpaper* is the global design authority, leading the way in architecture, design, art, entertaining, beauty & grooming, transport, technology, fashion, and watches & jewellery.

Finding and Accessing Collections Journals A - Z Requesting Resources

Databases bring together specialist collections of articles, images and electronic books. A list of all current databases can be found using the Databases A-Z, the most relevant are -

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides the full text of journal articles on art, design, advertising, architecture, crafts, interior design, photography, textiles, television and video.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Bloomsbury Design Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Business of Fashion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online fashion and beauty magazine for global business advice, articles on technology and industry reports.
For access register online.
You will receive two emails - click 'Complete Sign In' in the first email and enter your details; click 'Activate Membership' in the second email.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. See - Business Source Complete to learn more.
Crafts Council This link opens in a new window
The Crafts Research Hub draws together research reports, blogs, conference proceedings and online discussion groups with links to academic research centres and major public sector research agencies.
DAAI - Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DAAI is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. 1973 to present.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping you to analyse market context and identify future trends.
See - Getting started with Euromonitor to learn more..
Klimt02 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A subscription web site which examines contemporary jewellery design in its social context by offering online image galleries, forums, articles and information on designers, exhibitions, awards, and jewellery design courses offered by Universities and other institutions, 2003 onwards.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert reports with detailed information on consumer buying patterns, product and service sector performance and emerging trends.
See - Mintel to learn more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. See Getting started with Statista to learn more.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue, published in 1892, to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images.
WGSN: Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WGSN Insight provides trend analysis and consumer behaviour reports on technology, marketing, design, retail and business strategy across a range of industries, including gaming, entertainment, beauty and AI.
See - Getting started with WGSN to learn more about how to setup and use WGSN.

Finding and Accessing Collections Databases A-Z Requesting Resources

Moving Image Resources

BoB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BoB is on demand TV and radio service for education which allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. See - Using BoB to learn more about how to setup and use BoB.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming service with a Netflix-style interface which can be accessed via the link above or using the Kanopy mobile app for Android and iOS.
Login required off campus to watch films (log in with your UCA details to create a Kanopy login).

Image Resources

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 2.5 million rights-cleared and high quality images from 46 of the world's leading collections.
VADS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, free for use in education. For more information about searching, viewing and saving images see - VADS.
V&A Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search more than 1.2 million objects from the V&A collections.

Podcast Resources

British Academy of Jewellery Podcasts
If Jewels Could Talk with Carol Woolton
"Jewels are the starting point to discuss past eras, romance, lost fortunes, revolution, precious stones and personal histories. This podcast explores every facet of jewellery – from who makes it, to who wears it, and why – and is a must-listen for everyone who loves jewellery or might be buying a piece of jewellery; anyone interested in design and history; and all those who love a rollicking real-life story. Carol Woolton is Britain’s leading authority on jewellery and gemstones and has entertained and informed the readers of British Vogue and Tatler as Jewellery Editor for more than 25 years."
Jewellery Talks At The Bench
Andrew has been a jeweller for 35 years and runs his jewellery business from South Wales, UK.
"There will be lots of tips for you to try in your own business. Advice on marketing, selling and making your jewellery, using tools and materials for you to become a better jeweller. Learn about our mistakes and how we overcome them."
Making Conversations
Making Conversations Podcast is a project from silversmith Robyn Galway and ceramicist Jemma Millen - both practicing makers and graduates of the applied art department of Ulster University, who both share a love of making and craft.
“Our aim for the podcast is to connect with designers and makers to quite simply; make conversations. As makers ourselves, we are passionate about making craft accessible to as wide an audience as possible. We hope our episodes will give a wonderful but truthful insight into the reality of each craft discipline and the daily working practice of makers, as well as shine a light on the locally produced craft that surrounds us.”
Material matters
A podcast where the host talks to a designer, maker, artist, or architect about their relationship to a material or technique with which they are intrinsically linked.

Finding and Accessing Collections Requesting Resources

Archives offer access to rare and unique insight into the work of artists and creators, and often include original letters and artwork. Details of all the collections can be found in the ArchiveSearch, the most relevant for jewellery, ceramics and glass are -

Archives & Special Collections ArchivesSearch