Learning and Teaching
The Library welcomes recommendations from staff and students, provided they are current editions and support the learning, teaching and research interests of the University. Make your request through the Collection Recommendation Service.
- Sage Journals
A great source for international social and psychological theories. Includes high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies. - Tate Etc.
Keep up to date with everything creative arts and creative industries with Tate’s flagship magazine, contains essays, interviews, cutting-edge studio work and archive highlights.
🔎 Webinar: Wednesday 12:00 30th March - Research Ethics with Steve Dixon-Smith and Katie Mander, Learning Development Tutors.
🚺 Feminism reading list - check out the new Feminism reading list, which highlights resources on cyberfeminism, black and queer feminism and more! Click on the “table of contents” to view books that are related to fashion.
🏳️🌈 LGBTQ+ reading list - have you seen the LGBTQ+ reading list, which highlights recommended resources available in the library?
The library offers over 200,000 print and electronic books. Print books are arranged by shelf number, which are found using LibrarySearch and on the book binding, the most relevant numbers are -
| Subject | Shelf Number |
| Research methods | 001.43 |
| Education theory | 370.1 |
| Educational psychology | 370.15 |
| Action research in education | 370.72 |
| Teaching methods | 371.1 |
| Teaching in higher education | 378.17 |
| Curriculum design | 378.199 |
| Arts education | 707.1 |
Journals provide up to date research in your area of study, they may be available in print or electronic format and can be found using LibrarySearch. A list of all current journals can be found using the Journals A-Z, the most relevant are -
- Art, design & communication in higher education
The peer-reviewed journal of Art, Design & Communication in Higher Education aims to inform, stimulate and promote the development of research in the field by providing a forum for debate arising from findings as well as theory and methodologies. - British Journal of Learning Disabilities
An interdisciplinary international peer-reviewed journal which aims to be the leading journal in the learning disability field. It is the official Journal of the British Institute of Learning Disabilities. - Digital Creativity
research on the intersection of creative arts, design and digital technologies. - Journal of Action Learning
Publishes articles which advance knowledge about action learning, an approach which holds that there can be no learning without action and no knowing without the effort to practice and implement what is claimed as knowledge. - Journal of Creative Behaviour
Provides cutting-edge ideas about creativity in a number of fields, including education, psychology, art, business, and more. - Teaching in Higher Education
Publishes scholarly work that critically examines and interrogates the values and presuppositions underpinning teaching, introduces theoretical perspectives and insights drawn from different disciplinary and methodological frameworks, and considers how teaching and research can be brought into a closer relationship. - The international journal of art & design education
An international forum for research in the field of the art and creative education. It is the primary source for the dissemination of independently refereed articles about the visual arts, creativity, crafts, design, and art history, in all aspects, phases and types of education contexts and learning situations. - Radical teacher
A socialist, feminist, and anti-racist peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the theory and practice of education. The journal examines the root causes of inequality and promotes progressive social change in the field of education. - Research in Learning Technology
Publishes papers concerning the use of technology in learning and teaching in all sectors of education, as well as in industry. - Studies in Art Education
Publishes quantitative, qualitative, historical, and philosophical research in art education, and applicable research in related fields such as anthropology, education, psychology, philosophy, and sociology. - Studies in Higher Education
A leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective.
Databases bring together specialist collections of articles, images and electronic books. A list of all current databases can be found using the Databases A-Z, the most relevant are -
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides the full text of journal articles on art, design, advertising, architecture, crafts, interior design, photography, textiles, television and video.
- Education Research Complete (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research on education, including journals (abstracts and full text), books and conference papers.
- Times Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times Higher Education is the leading voice of global higher education, and your source of the latest news and analysis from across academia. The World University Rankings, providing trusted performance data on universities for academics and sector leaders, and students.
- Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers articles on Art, Architecture, Literature, Mythology and Folklore, History, Philosophy, Performing Arts, Politics, Science, Medicine, Food & Drink, and Social Sciences.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.
- BoB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BoB is on demand TV and radio service for education which allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. See - Using BoB to learn more about how to setup and use BoB.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming service with a Netflix-style interface which can be accessed via the link above or using the Kanopy mobile app for Android and iOS.
Login required off campus to watch films (log in with your UCA details to create a Kanopy login). - Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of UK television and radio broadcasts. Selected programmes of value to higher and further education are reviewed. Click the login button and select the University for the Creative Arts from the dropdown - you will then be taken to a login page.
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 800,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 2.5 million rights-cleared and high quality images from 46 of the world's leading collections.
- Decolonization in Action
Decolonization in Action Podcast interrogates how people are challenging the legacies of colonialism through art, activism, and knowledge especially as people advocate for reparations, restitution, and repair. - Times Higher Education Podcasts
Times Higher Education is the heart of the higher education debate. It covers the latest university news, higher education analysis, and world university rankings discussion. Essential listening for academics and university professional staff, and those with a keen interest in academia. - The Wonkhe Show
Every week the Wonkhe team and guests from across higher education dissect the week's big policy developments, and we also feature interviews, features, and views from around the sector.
Archives offer access to rare and unique insight into the work of artists and creators, and often include original letters and artwork. Details of all the collections can be found in the ArchiveSearch, the most relevant for learning and teaching are -
Artists Books
Are works of art in a book, or book-like form. The appearance and production of the work is determined by the artist as a limited edition. Digitised front covers can be viewed in ResourceBank
Diagram Group Archive
Founded by Bob Chapman and Bruce Robertson in 1960’s. Diagram was one of the most prolific creators of visual information books in the 20th century – we care for most of its manuscripts and art works.
Typographic Circle
Poster collection (2008 - 2015). Founded by Maggie Lewis in 1976, Typographic Circle brought together people with an interest in typography and type.
